Faculty Directory By Subfield​

​(Updated Winter 2018)

American Politics

Name Rank Office Phone Email Position
Barber, Mike ​Assistant ​724 KMBL ​(801) 422-7492 barber@byu.edu
​Thursday Group Coordinator
Brown, Adam Assistant 772 KMBL (801) 422-2182 brown@byu.edu  
Davis, Richard Professor 754 KMBL (801) 422-7503 richard_davis@byu.edu Director: Office of Civic Engagement
Dynes, Adam Assistant 784 KMBL (801) 422-2337 adamdynes@byu.edu  
Goodliffe, Jay Associate 734 KMBL (801) 422-9136 goodliffe@byu.edu Associate Chair: Curriculum
Holbein, John
​Assistant​744 KMBL
​(801) 422-7800
john_holbein@byu.edu
Karpowitz, Chris Professor
850 KMBL (801) 422-2788 chris_karpowitz@byu.edu CSED Co-Director
Magleby, David Professor 750 KMBL (801) 422-5462  david_magleby@byu.edu  
Monson, Quin Associate 840 KMBL (801) 422-8017 quin.monson@byu.edu  BYUPAS Advisor
Patterson, Kelly Professor 842 KMBL (801) 422-4985 kelly_patterson@byu.edu  
Pope, Jeremy Associate 834 KMBL (801) 422-1344 jpope@byu.edu  CSED Co-Director
Wilson, Sven Professor 722 KMBL (801) 422-9018 sven_wilson@byu.edu  Department Chair


Comparative Politics

Name Rank Office Phone  Email Position
Christensen, Ray Associate 775 KMBL (801) 422-5133 ray_christensen@byu.edu  IR Coordinator
Gubler, Josh ​Assistant ​764 KMBL ​(801) 422-2829 jgub@byu.edu
Hawkins, Kirk Associate 782 SWKT (801) 422-1362 kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
Jacoby, Wade Professor 742 KMBL/216 HRCB (801) 422-1711 wade_jacoby@byu.edu  CSE Director
​Mecham, Quinn Associate ​770 KMBL ​(801) 422-5317 qmecham@byu.edu ​ Middle East Studies Coordinator
Nielson, Dan Professor ​790 KMBL ​(801) 422-3417 daniel_nielson@byu.edu
Preece, Jessica Associate 732 KMBL (801) 422-3276 jessica_preece@byu.edu  Associate Chair: Academic Life
Selway, Joel Associate​ 792 KMBL (801) 422-8607 joel_selway@byu.edu  PEDL Director


International Relations

Name Rank Office Phone  Email Position
​Beesley, Celeste ​Assistant ​730 KMBL ​(801) 422-7807 celeste_beesley@byu.edu
Cooper, Scott Associate 762 KMBL (801) 422-4053 scott_cooper@byu.edu  Sigma Advisor
Fry, Earl Professor 774 KMBL (801) 422-2453 earl_fry@byu.edu  Canadian Studies Coordinator
Hawkins, Darren Professor 832 KMBL (801) 422-5526 dhawkins@byu.edu
Hyer, Eric Associate 780 KMBL / 209 HRCB (801) 422-4699 eric_hyer@byu.edu  Asian Studies Coordinator
​Kartchner, Kerry
​Visiting​774 KMBL
​(801) 422-0364
kkartchner@byu.edu
Kirkham, David
​Associate 27 Palace Court,
London, UK
​+44 (0) 7730
334 098
kirkhamd@law.byu.edu​ ​ Academic Director and
 Professor, BYU London Centre
​Nelson, Chad Assistant ​752 KMBL (801) 422-​3505 chad_nelson@byu.edu
Nielson, Dan ​Professor ​790 KMBL ​(801) 422-3417 daniel_nielson@byu.edu ​ ​
Stiles, Ken Professor 760 KMBL / 215 HRCB (801) 422-1352 ken_stiles@byu.edu


Political Theory

 
Name Rank Office Phone Email Position
Hancock, Ralph Professor 852 KMBL (801) 422-3302 ralph_hancock@byu.edu  
​Dabling, ​Brandon Visiting​ ​781 KMBL (801) 422-5022​ brandon_dabling@byu.edu
Davis, Ryan ​Assistant ​740 KMBL
(801) 422-​9080 ​rwdavis@byu.edu ​ Political Review Advisor
​​