Skip to main content

Directory

Faculty by Name
Faculty by Subfield
Adjunct Faculty
Staff
Assistant Professor
American Politics
852 KMBL
(801) 422-5022
lisa_argyle@byu.edu
Associate Professor
American Politics
724 KMBL
(801) 422-7492
barber@byu.edu
Thursday Group Coordinator
Assistant Professor
International Relations
730 KMBL
(801) 422-7807
celeste_beesley@byu.edu
Associate Professor
American Politics
772 KMBL
(801) 422-2182
brown@byu.edu
Assistant Professor
American Politics
844 KMBL
(801) 422-2453
ethan.busby@byu.edu
Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
775 KMBL
(801) 422-5133
ray_christensen@byu.edu
Associate Professor
International Relations
762 KMBL
(801) 422-4053
scott_cooper@byu.edu
Sigma Advisor
Professor
American Politics
750 KMBL
(801) 422-7503
richard_davis@byu.edu
Director of the Office of Civic Engagement
Assistant Professor
Political Philosophy
740 KMBL
(801) 422-9080
rwdavis@byu.edu
Political Review Advisor
Assistant Professor
American Politics
784 KMBL
(801) 422-2337
adamdynes@byu.edu
BYUPAS Advisor
Visiting Professor
Political Philosophy
844 KMBL
(801) 422-9334
dfrost@byu.edu
Professor
American Politics
734 KMBL
(801) 422-9136
goodliffe@byu.edu
Associate Chair: Teaching & Curriculum
Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
764 KMBL
(801) 422-2829
jgub@byu.edu
Professor
Political Philosophy
794 KMBL
(801) 422-3302
ralph_hancock@byu.edu
Professor
International Relations
832 KMBL
(801) 422-5526
dhawkins@byu.edu
Professor
Comparative Politics
782 KMBL
(801) 422-1362
kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
Associate Professor
International Relations
780 KMBL / 209 HRCB
(810) 422-4699
eric_hyer@byu.edu
Asian Studies Coordinator
Professor
American Politics
850 KMBL
(801) 422-2788
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu
CSED Co-Director
Visiting Professor
International Relations
744 KMBL
(801) 422-0364
kkartchner@byu.edu
Assistant Professor
American Politics
742 KMBL
(801) 422-7265
chris_krewson@byu.edu
Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
770 KMBL
(801) 422-5317
qmecham@byu.edu
Middle East Studies Coordinator
Associate Professor
American Politics
840 KMBL
(801) 422-8017
quin.monson@byu.edu
BYUPAS Advisor
Assistant Professor
International Relations
752 KMBL
(801) 422-3505
chad_nelson@byu.edu
Professor
Comparative Politics
790 KMBL
(801) 422-3417
daniel_nielson@byu.edu
Visiting Professor
International Relations
754 KMBL
(801) 422-5237
tyler.pack@byu.edu
Professor
American Politics
842 KMBL
(801) 422-4985
kelly_patterson@byu.edu
Professor
American Politics
834 KMBL
(801) 422-1344
jpope@byu.edu
CSED Co-Director
Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
732 KMBL
(801) 422-3276
jessica_preece@byu.edu
Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
792 KMBL
(801) 422-8607
joel_selway@byu.edu
PEDL Director
Professor
International Relations
760 KMBL
(801) 422-1352
ken_stiles@byu.edu
Assistant Professor
Political Philosophy
744 KMBL
(801) 422-2948
lucy_williams@byu.edu
Professor
American Politics
722 KMBL
(801) 422-9018
sven_wilson@byu.edu
Department Chair

American Politics

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Argyle, Lisa Assistant 852
KMBL
Lisa_argyle@byu.edu
(801) 422-5022
Barber, Mike Assistant 724
KMBL
barber@byu.edu
(801) 422-7492
Brown, Adam Associate 772
KMBL
brown@byu.edu
(801) 422-2182
Busby, Ethan Assistant 844
KMBL
ethan.busby@byu.edu
(801) 422-2453
Davis, Richard Professor 750
KMBL
richard_davis@byu.edu
(801) 422-7503
Dynes, Adam Assistant 784
KMBL
adamdynes@byu.edu
(801) 422-2337
BYUPAS &
PI Sigma Alpha
Advisor
Goodliffe, Jay Professor 734
KMBL
goodliffe@byu.edu
(801) 422-9136
Washington Seminar Faculty Director
Karpowitz, Chris Professor 850
KMBL
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu
(801) 422-2788
University IRB Rep
CSED Co-Director
Krewson, Chris Assistant 742
KMBL
chris_kreswson@byu.edu
(801) 422-7265
Monson, Quin Associate 840
KMBL
quin.monson@byu.edu
(801) 422-8017
Civic Engagement Coordinator
Patterson, Kelly Professor 840
KMBL
kelly_patterson@byu.edu
(801) 422-4985
Pope, Jeremy Associate 834
KMBL
jpope@byu.edu
(801) 422-1344
CSEC Co-Director
Wilson, Sven Professor 722
KMBL
sven_wilson@byu.edu
(801) 422- 9018
Department Chair
BYU Republicans Advisor

Comparative Politics

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Christensen, Ray Associate 775
KMBL
Ray_christensen@byu.edu
(801) 422-5133
IR Coordinator
Gubler, Josh Associate 764
KMBL
jgub@byu.edu
(801) 422-2829
Political Review Advisor
Hawkins, Kirk Professor 782
KMBL
Kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-1362
Assoc. Chair
Teaching and Curriculum
Mecham, Quinn Associate 770
KMBL
qmecham@byu.edu
(801) 422-5317
Middle East Studies Coordinator
Nielson, Dan Professor 790
KMBL
Daniel_nielson@byu.edu
(801) 422-3417
Preece, Jessica Associate 732
KMBL
Jessica_preece@byu.edu
(801) 422-3276
Assoc. Chair
Research and Academic Life
Selway, Joel Associate 792
KMBL
Joel_selway@byu.edu
(801) 422-8607

International Relations

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Beesley, Celeste Assistant

730

KMBL

Celeste_beesly@byu.edu

(801) 422-7808

WomanStats Representative
Cooper, Scott Associate

762

KMBL

Scott_cooper@byu.edu

(801) 422- 4053

Sigma Advisor
Hawkins, Darren Professor

832

KMBL

dhawkins@byu.edu

(801) 422-5526

Chair, Ad hoc Committee on Writing in the Discipline
Hyer, Eric Associate

780 KMBL

209 HRCB

Eric_hyer@byu.edu

(801) 422-0364

Asian Studies Coordinator
Kartchner, Kerry Visiting

744

KMBL

kkartchner@byu.edu

(801) 422-0364

Nelson, Chad Assistant

752

KMBL

Chad_nelson@byu.edu

(801) 422-3505

Nielson, Dan Professor

790

KMBL

Daniel_nielson@byu.edu

(801) 422-3417

Pack, Tyler Visiting

754

KMBL

Tyler.pack@byu.edu

(801) 422-5237

Stiles, Ken Professor

760 KMB

215 HRCB

Ken_stiles@byu.edu

(801) 422-1352

Political Theory

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Davis, Ryan Assistant 740
KMBL
rwdavis@byu.edu
(801) 422-9080
Young Scholars Workshop Coordinator
Frost, Daniel Visiting 844
KMBL
dfrost@byu.edu
(801) 422-9334
Hancock, Ralph Professor 794
KMBL
ralph_hancock@byu.edu
(801) 422-3302
Tocqueville Club Advisor
Williams, Lucy Assistant 774
KMBL
lucy_williams@byu.edu
(801) 422-2948
Pi Sigma Alpha/BYUPAS Advisor
Adjunct Faculty
bradfordbruton@gmail.com
POLI 379R: Introduction to Open Source Intelligence
Adjunct Faculty
mbusse2@byu.edu
POLI 298: Speaker Series on Careers
Adjunct Faculty
christopherpdavey@gmail.com
POLI 379R: Genocide
POLI 352: African Politics
Adjunct Faculty
robert_griffiths@byu.edu
POLI 353: China: Government and Politics
Adjunct Faculty
anne.walters@byu.edu
POLI 210: Principles of American Politics
STAFF
Krista Mortensen Image
Krista Mortensen
Department Office Manager
747 KMBL
(801) 422-3422
krista.mortensen@byu.edu

J. Matthew Clarke Image
J. Matthew Clarke
Academic Support Coordinator
783 KMBL
(801) 422-3982
matthew_clarke@byu.edu
STUDENT OFFICE STAFF
Drew Jezek Image
Drew Jezek
Office Assistant
Rachel Tebbs Image
Rachel Tebbs
Office Assistant
Scott Abbott Image
Scott Abbott
Accountant

745 KMBL | (801) 422-3423 | polysec@byu.edu