Skip to main content

Directory

Faculty by Name
Faculty by Subfield
Faculty Assignments
Adjunct Faculty
Emeriti Faculty
Staff

Alejandra Aldridge

Assistant Professor
American Politics
754 KMBL
(801) 422-4375
alejandra.aldridge@byu.edu

Lisa Argyle

Assistant Professor
American Politics
852 KMBL
(801) 422-5022
lisa_argyle@byu.edu

Michael Barber

Associate Professor
American Politics
724 KMBL
(801) 422-7492
barber@byu.edu

Celeste Beesley

Assistant Professor
International Relations
730 KMBL
(801) 422-7807
celeste_beesley@byu.edu

Adam Brown

Associate Professor
American Politics
772 KMBL
(801) 422-2182
brown@byu.edu

Ethan Busby

Assistant Professor
American Politics
844 KMBL
(801) 422-2453
ethan.busby@byu.edu

Ray Christensen

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
215 HRCB
(801) 422-5133
ray_christensen@byu.edu

Scott Cooper

Associate Professor
International Relations
762 KMBL
(801) 422-4053
scott_cooper@byu.edu

Ryan Davis

Associate Professor
Political Philosophy
740 KMBL
(801) 422-9080
rwdavis@byu.edu

Adam Dynes

Associate Professor
American Politics
784 KMBL
(801) 422-2337
adamdynes@byu.edu

Jay Goodliffe

Professor
American Politics
734 KMBL
(801) 422-9136
goodliffe@byu.edu
Department Chair

Josh Gubler

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
764 KMBL
(801) 422-2829
jgub@byu.edu

Ralph Hancock

Professor
Political Philosophy
794 KMBL
(801) 422-3302
ralph_hancock@byu.edu

Darren Hawkins

Professor
International Relations
832 KMBL
(801) 422-5526
dhawkins@byu.edu

Kirk Hawkins

Professor
Comparative Politics
782 KMBL
(801) 422-1362
kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
Associate Chair: Teaching & Curriculum

Gentry Jenkins

Visiting Professor
International Relations
774 KMBL
(801) 422-5894
gentry.jenkins@byu.edu

Chris Karpowitz

Professor
American Politics
850 KMBL
(801) 422-2788
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu

Christopher Krewson

Assistant Professor
American Politics
742 KMBL
(801) 422-7265
chris_krewson@byu.edu

Elizabeth McGuire

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
780 KMBL
(801) 422-1866
elizabeth.mcguire@byu.edu

Quinn Mecham

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
770 KMBL
(801) 422-5317
qmecham@byu.edu

Quin Monson

Professor
American Politics
840 KMBL
(801) 422-8017
quin.monson@byu.edu

Chad Nelson

Assistant Professor
International Relations
752 KMBL
(801) 422-3505
chad_nelson@byu.edu

Tyler Pack

Visiting Professor
International Relations
754 KMBL
(801) 422-5237
tyler.pack@byu.edu

Kelly Patterson

Professor
American Politics
842 KMBL
(801) 422-4985
kelly_patterson@byu.edu

Jeremy Pope

Professor
American Politics
834 KMBL
(801) 422-1344
jpope@byu.edu
Associate Chair: Research and Academic Life

Jessica Preece

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
732 KMBL
(801) 422-3276
jessica_preece@byu.edu

David Romney

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
734 KMBL
(801) 422-0364
david.romney@byu.edu

Darin Self

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
790 KMBL
(801) 422-4424
darin_self@byu.edu

Joel Selway

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
792 KMBL
(801) 422-8607
joel_selway@byu.edu

Ken Stiles

Professor
International Relations
760 KMBL
(801) 422-1352
ken_stiles@byu.edu

Sven Wilson

Professor
American Politics
722 KMBL
(801) 422-9018
sven_wilson@byu.edu

American Politics

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Aldridge, Alejandra Assistant 754
KMBL
alejandra.aldridge@byu.edu
(801) 422-4375
Argyle, Lisa Assistant 852
KMBL
Lisa_argyle@byu.edu
(801) 422-5022
Barber, Mike Associate 724
KMBL
barber@byu.edu
(801) 422-7492
Brown, Adam Associate 772
KMBL
brown@byu.edu
(801) 422-2182
Busby, Ethan Assistant 844
KMBL
ethan.busby@byu.edu
(801) 422-2453
Honors Thesis Advisor
Dynes, Adam Assistant 784
KMBL
adamdynes@byu.edu
(801) 422-2337
BYUPAS & PI Sigma Alpha
Advisor
Goodliffe, Jay Professor 734
KMBL
goodliffe@byu.edu
(801) 422-9136
Department Chair
Karpowitz, Chris Professor 850
KMBL
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu
(801) 422-2788
University IRB Rep,
CSED Co-Director
Krewson, Chris Assistant 742
KMBL
chris_kreswson@byu.edu
(801) 422-7265
Monson, Quin Associate 840
KMBL
quin.monson@byu.edu
(801) 422-8017
Civic Engagement Coordinator
Patterson, Kelly Professor 840
KMBL
kelly_patterson@byu.edu
(801) 422-4985
University General Education Advanced Writing
Pope, Jeremy Professor 834
KMBL
jpope@byu.edu
(801) 422-1344
Assoc. Chair: Research & Academic Life, CSEC Co-Director
Wilson, Sven Professor 722
KMBL
sven_wilson@byu.edu
(801) 422- 9018
BYU Republicans Advisor

Comparative Politics

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Christensen, Ray Associate 775
KMBL
Ray_christensen@byu.edu
(801) 422-5133
IR Coordinator, BYU Republicans
Gubler, Josh Associate 764
KMBL
jgub@byu.edu
(801) 422-2829
Middle East Studies Coordinator
Hawkins, Kirk Professor 782
KMBL
Kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-1362
Assoc. Chair: Teaching and Curriculum
McGuire, Liz Assistant 780
KMBL
elizabeth.mcguire@byu.edu
(801) 422-1866
BYUPAS Advisor
Mecham, Quinn Associate 770
KMBL
qmecham@byu.edu
(801) 422-5317
Associate Director over Academic Programs & Research
Preece, Jessica Associate 732
KMBL
Jessica_preece@byu.edu
(801) 422-3276
Assoc. Chair,
Research and Academic Life
Romney, David Assistant 734
KMBL
david.romney@byu.edu
(801) 422-0364
Political Review Advisor
Self, Darin Assistant 790
KMBL
darin_self@byu.edu
(801) 422-4424
Selway, Joel Associate 792
KMBL
Joel_selway@byu.edu
(801) 422-8607

International Relations

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Beesley, Celeste Assistant 730
KMBL
Celeste_beesly@byu.edu
(801) 422-7808
WomanStats Rep.
Cooper, Scott Associate 762
KMBL
Scott_cooper@byu.edu
(801) 422- 4053
Sigma Advisor
Hawkins, Darren Professor 832
KMBL
dhawkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-5526
D. Rank & Status Chair, GPL Director, BYU Democrats
Jenkins, Gentry Visiting 774 KMBL gentry.jenkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-5894
Nelson, Chad Assistant 752
KMBL
Chad_nelson@byu.edu
(801) 422-3505
Stiles, Ken Professor 760 KMBL
215 HRCB
Ken_stiles@byu.edu
(801) 422-1352
Utah Debate Commission

Political Theory

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Davis, Ryan Associate 740
KMBL
rwdavis@byu.edu
(801) 422-9080
Young Scholars Workshop Coordinator, Thursday Group Coordinator
Hancock, Ralph Professor 794 KMBL ralph_hancock@byu.edu
(801) 422-3302
Tocqueville Club Advisor

Administrative Positions, 2022-2023

1. Department Leadership


Chair: Jay Goodliffe
Associate Chair, Research and Academic Life: Jeremy Pope
Associate Chair, Teaching and Curriculum: Kirk Hawkins

2. Department Standing Committees


Department Executive Committee


Chair: Jay Goodliffe
Members: Kirk Hawkins, Jeremy Pope, Darren Hawkins, Adam Dynes

Teaching and Curriculum Committee


Chair: Kirk Hawkins
Course Scheduling:
- American Politics/Public Policy: Adam Brown
- Comparative Politics: Joel Selway
- International Relations: Chad Nelson
- Political Theory: Ralph Hancock
Writing Coordinator: Lisa Argyle
Representative on College Curriculum Committee: Kirk Hawkins
Student Appeals/Requests: Kirk Hawkins
Washington Seminar Oversight Committee: Kirk Hawkins

Research and Academic Life Committee


Chair: Jeremy Pope
Members: Quinn Mecham, Darin Self, Chris Krewson, Kirk Hawkins

Rank & Status Committee


Chair: Kelly Patterson
Members: Ken Stiles, Mike Barber, Darren Hawkins, Jessica Preece

3. Other Department Committees & Positions


Pi Sigma Alpha/BYUPAS Advisors: Adam Dynes, Liz McGuire
Sigma Advisor: Scott Cooper
Political Review Advisor: David Romney
Honors Thesis Advisor: Darin Self
CSED Director Fall: Chris Karpowitz, Associate Director: Mike Barber
CSED Director Winter: Mike Barber, Associate Director: Adam Dynes
GPL Director: Darren Hawkins
IRB Scientific Merit: Chris Krewson
BYU College Democrats: Darren Hawkins
BYU College Republicans: Quin Monson
BYU College Utah United: Ken Stiles
Tocqueville Club: Ralph Hancock
Global Governance co-editor: Ken Stiles
Political Behavior co-editors: Chris Karpowitz and Jessica Preece

4. College and University Assignments


University IRB Representative: Chris Karpowitz (Fall), Joel Selway (Winter)
University General Education Advanced Writing: Kelly Patterson
University Constitution Day Committee: Chris Krewson, Alejandra Aldridge
College Rank and Status Committee: Sven Wilson
College Diversity & Inclusion Committee: Alejandra Aldridge
Civic Engagement Coordinator: Quin Monson
KC Associate Director over Academic Programs and Research: Quinn Mecham
KC International Relations Coordinator: Ray Christensen
KC Middle East Studies/Arabic Coordinator: Josh Gubler
Wheatley Institute Faculty Fellow: Ralph Hancock
WomanStats Representative: Celeste Beesley
Utah Debate Commission: Ken Stiles

Brad Bruton

Adjunct Faculty
bradfordbruton@gmail.com
POLI 379R: Introduction to Open Source Intelligence

Mark Clawson

Adjunct Faculty
markc@diamondevent.com
POLI 364: Jurisprudence

Kerry Kartchner

Adjunct Faculty
kkartchner@byu.edu
POLI 470: Research Project: International Relations "The Politics of Nuclear Proliferation"

Brock Mason

Adjunct Faculty
elderbrockmason@gmail.com
POLI 202: Western Political Heritage 1

David Bohn

Donna Lee Bowen

781 KMBL
(801) 422-3409

Richard Davis

Lee Farnsworth

Earl Fry

David B Galbraith

David Magleby

1135 KMBL
(801) 422-5462

Louis C Midgley

Noel Reynolds

Lamond Tullis

STAFF

Mortensen, Krista 1911-47 02.jpg

Krista Mortensen

Department Office Manager
744 KMBL
(801) 422-3422
krista.mortensen@byu.edu
J. Matthew Clarke Image

J. Matthew Clarke

Academic Support Coordinator
783 KMBL
(801) 422-3982
matthew_clarke@byu.edu

Andrew Roberts

Academic Advisor
Read about Andrew here
1041 JFSB
801-422-3541
andrew_roberts@byu.edu

STUDENT OFFICE STAFF

Rachel Tebbs Image

Elizabeth Bessey

Office Assistant

Brianna Gee

Office Assistant

Danielle Smith

Office Assistant

Abby Housley

Accountant

Rebecca Ahlstrom

Office Assistant

745 KMBL | (801) 422-3423 | polysec@byu.edu