Skip to main content

Directory

Faculty by Name
Faculty by Subfield
Faculty Assignments
Adjunct Faculty
Emeriti Faculty
Staff

Alejandra Aldridge

Assistant Professor
American Politics
842 KMBL
(801) 422-4375
alejandra.aldridge@byu.edu

Lisa Argyle

Assistant Professor
American Politics
852 KMBL
(801) 422-5022
lisa_argyle@byu.edu

Douglas Atkinson

Assistant Professor
International Politics
734 KMBL
(801) 422-0413
atkinsond@byu.edu

Michael Barber

Associate Professor
American Politics
724 KMBL
(801) 422-7492
barber@byu.edu

Celeste Beesley

Associate Professor
International Relations
730 KMBL
(801) 422-7807
celeste_beesley@byu.edu

Adam Brown

Associate Professor
American Politics
772 KMBL
(801) 422-2182
brown@byu.edu

Ethan Busby

Assistant Professor
American Politics
844 KMBL
(801) 422-2453
ethan.busby@byu.edu

Scott Cooper

Associate Professor
International Relations
762 KMBL
(801) 422-4053
scott_cooper@byu.edu

Ryan Davis

Associate Professor
Political Philosophy
740 KMBL
(801) 422-9080
rwdavis@byu.edu

Sean Driscoll

Visiting Assistant Professor
Political Theory
783 KMBL
(801) 422-0937
sean.driscoll@byu.edu

Rebecca Dudley

Assistant Professor
International Politics
754 KMBL
(801) 422-3705
rebecca.dudley@byu.edu

Adam Dynes

Associate Professor
American Politics
784 KMBL
(801) 422-2337
adamdynes@byu.edu

Jay Goodliffe

Professor
American Politics
722 KMBL
(801) 422-9136
goodliffe@byu.edu
Department Chair

Josh Gubler

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
764 KMBL
(801) 422-2829
jgub@byu.edu

Ralph Hancock

Professor
Political Philosophy
794 KMBL
(801) 422-3302
ralph_hancock@byu.edu

Darren Hawkins

Professor
International Relations
832 KMBL
(801) 422-5526
dhawkins@byu.edu

Kirk Hawkins

Professor
Comparative Politics
782 KMBL
(801) 422-1362
kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
Associate Chair: Teaching & Curriculum

Chris Karpowitz

Professor
American Politics
850 KMBL
(801) 422-2788
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu

Christopher Krewson

Assistant Professor
American Politics
742 KMBL
(801) 422-7265
chris_krewson@byu.edu

Elizabeth McGuire

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
780 KMBL
(801) 422-1866
elizabeth.mcguire@byu.edu

Quinn Mecham

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
770 KMBL
(801) 422-5317
qmecham@byu.edu

Quin Monson

Professor
American Politics
840 KMBL
(801) 422-8017
quin.monson@byu.edu

Chad Nelson

Associate Professor
International Relations
752 KMBL
(801) 422-3505
chad_nelson@byu.edu

Kelly Patterson

Professor
American Politics
830 KMBL
(801) 422-4985
kelly_patterson@byu.edu

Jeremy Pope

Professor
American Politics
834 KMBL
(801) 422-1344
jpope@byu.edu
Associate Chair: Research and Academic Life

Jessica Preece

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
732 KMBL
(801) 422-3276
jessica_preece@byu.edu

David Romney

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
774 KMBL
(801) 422-0364
david.romney@byu.edu

Darin Self

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
790 KMBL
(801) 422-4424
darin_self@byu.edu

Joel Selway

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
792 KMBL
(801) 422-8607
joel_selway@byu.edu

Ken Stiles

Professor
International Relations
760 KMBL
(801) 422-1352
ken_stiles@byu.edu

Ricardo Vernet

Visiting Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
781 KMBL
(801) 422-0918
ricardo.vernet@byu.edu

Sven Wilson

Professor
American Politics
750 KMBL
(801) 422-9018
sven_wilson@byu.edu

American Politics

NameRankOfficeContactPosition
Aldridge, AlejandraAssistant842
KMBL
alejandra.aldridge@byu.edu
(801) 422-4375
College Diversity & Inclusion Committee
Argyle, LisaAssistant852
KMBL
Lisa_argyle@byu.edu
(801) 422-5022
Barber, MikeAssociate724
KMBL
barber@byu.edu
(801) 422-7492
CSED Co-Director
Brown, AdamAssociate772
KMBL
brown@byu.edu
(801) 422-2182
Busby, EthanAssistant844
KMBL
ethan.busby@byu.edu
(801) 422-2453
Dynes, AdamAssociate784
KMBL
adamdynes@byu.edu
(801) 422-2337
BYUPAS & PI Sigma Alpha
Advisor
Goodliffe, JayProfessor722
KMBL
goodliffe@byu.edu
(801) 422-9136
Department Chair
Karpowitz, ChrisProfessor850
KMBL
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu
(801) 422-2788
University IRB Rep,
CSED Co-Director
Krewson, ChrisAssistant742
KMBL
chris_kreswson@byu.edu
(801) 422-7265
IRB Scientific Merit
Monson, QuinProfessor840
KMBL
quin.monson@byu.edu
(801) 422-8017
Civic Engagement Coordinator, BYU College Republicans
Patterson, KellyProfessor830
KMBL
kelly_patterson@byu.edu
(801) 422-4985
University General Education Advanced Writing
Pope, JeremyProfessor834
KMBL
jpope@byu.edu
(801) 422-1344
Assoc. Chair: Research & Academic Life, CSED Co-Director
Wilson, SvenProfessor750
KMBL
sven_wilson@byu.edu
(801) 422- 9018
BYU Republicans Advisor

Comparative Politics

NameRankOfficeContactPosition
Gubler, JoshAssociate764
KMBL
jgub@byu.edu
(801) 422-2829
Middle East Studies Coordinator
Hawkins, KirkProfessor782
KMBL
Kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-1362
Assoc. Chair: Teaching and Curriculum
McGuire, LizAssistant780
KMBL
elizabeth.mcguire@byu.edu
(801) 422-1866
BYUPAS Advisor
Mecham, QuinnAssociate770
KMBL
qmecham@byu.edu
(801) 422-5317
Associate Director over Academic Programs & Research
Preece, JessicaAssociate732
KMBL
Jessica_preece@byu.edu
(801) 422-3276
Assoc. Chair,
Research and Academic Life
Romney, DavidAssistant774
KMBL
david.romney@byu.edu
(801) 422-0364
Political Review Advisor
Self, DarinAssistant790
KMBL
darin_self@byu.edu
(801) 422-4424
Honors Thesis Advisor
Selway, JoelAssociate792
KMBL
Joel_selway@byu.edu
(801) 422-8607
Vernet, RicardoVisiting Assistant781 KMBLricardo.vernet@byu.edu
(801) 422-0918

International Relations

NameRankOfficeContactPosition
Atkinson, DougAssistant734 KMBL

atkinsond@byu.edu

(801) 422-0413

Beesley, CelesteAssistant730
KMBL
Celeste_beesly@byu.edu
(801) 422-7808
WomanStats Rep.
Cooper, ScottAssociate762
KMBL
Scott_cooper@byu.edu
(801) 422- 4053
Sigma Advisor
Dudley, RebeccaAssistant754 KMBLrebecca.dudley@byu.edu
(801) 422-3705
Hawkins, DarrenProfessor832
KMBL
dhawkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-5526
D. Rank & Status Chair, GPL Director, BYU Democrats
Nelson, ChadAssistant752
KMBL
Chad_nelson@byu.edu
(801) 422-3505
Stiles, KenProfessor760 KMBL
215 HRCB
Ken_stiles@byu.edu
(801) 422-1352
Utah Debate Commission

Political Theory

NameRankOfficeContactPosition
Davis, RyanAssociate740
KMBL
rwdavis@byu.edu
(801) 422-9080
Young Scholars Workshop Coordinator, Thursday Group Coordinator
Driscoll, SeanVisiting Assistant755 KMBLsean.driscoll@byu.edu
(801) 422-0937
Hancock, RalphProfessor794 KMBLralph_hancock@byu.edu
(801) 422-3302
Tocqueville Club Advisor

Administrative Positions, 2023-2024


1. Department Leadership

Chair: Jay Goodliffe
Associate Chair, Teaching and Curriculum: Kirk Hawkins
Associate Chair, Research and Academic Life: Jeremy Pope

2.   Department Standing Committees


Department Executive Committee

Chair: Jay Goodliffe
Members: Chad Nelson, Jeremy Pope, Kirk Hawkins, Ryan Davis
Committee Functions: See Department Handbook

Teaching and Curriculum Committee

Chair: Kirk Hawkins
Members: Adam Brown, Chad Nelson, David Romney, Lisa Argyle, Ralph Hancock

Committee Functions

Course Scheduling:
o American Politics/Public Policy: Adam Brown
o Comparative Politics: David Romney
o International Relations: Chad Nelson
o Political Theory: Ralph Hancock
· Writing Advocate: Lisa Argyle
· Representative on College Curriculum Committee: Kirk Hawkins
· Student Appeals/Requests: Kirk Hawkins
· Washington Seminar Oversight Committee: Kirk Hawkins
C. Research and Academic Life Committee Chair: Jeremy Pope
Members: Celeste Beesley, Chris Krewson, Darin Self, Ethan Busby, Rebecca Dudley

Committee Functions

· Faculty Hiring
· Award Nominations
· Department Research Grants
· Visiting Scholars
· Durham Lecture
· National Advisory Council
· Redd Center
· Thursday Group Coordinator: Ethan Busby
· Representative on College Research Committee: Jeremy Pope
· Representative on College Awards Committee: Jeremy Pope

Rank & Status Committee

Chair: Ken Stiles
Members: Adam Dynes, Darren Hawkins, Mike Barber, Jessica Preece (fall semester/CFS review), Chris Karpowitz (winter semester/3rd year review)
Committee Functions: See Department Handbook

3. Other Department Committees & Positions  

CSED Director: Mike Barber, Associate Director: Adam Dynes
GPL Director: Darren Hawkins
LDS Young Scholars Workshop Coordinator: Adam Brown
Pi Sigma Alpha/BYUPAS Advisors: Liz McGuire, Ryan Davis
Honors Thesis Advisor: Darin Self
Sigma Advisor: Doug Atkinson
Political Review Advisor: David Romney
IRB Scientific Merit: Chris Krewson
Lead Poster Judge: Rebecca Dudley
BYU College Democrats: Darren Hawkins
BYU College Republicans: Quin Monson
National Security Student Association: Chad Nelson
Tocqueville Club: Ralph Hancock

4. College and University Assignments  

Wheatley Institute Fellows: Jeremy Pope, Quin Monson
University IRB Representative: Joel Selway
University General Education Advanced Writing: Kelly Patterson
University Constitution Day Committee: Chris Krewson, Alejandra Aldridge
Civic Engagement Director: Quin Monson
College Rank and Status Committee: Sven Wilson (fall), Kelly Patterson (winter)
College Diversity & Inclusion Committee: Alejandra Aldridge
KC Associate Director over Academic Programs and Research: Quinn Mecham
KC International Relations Coordinator: Scott Cooper
KC Middle East Studies/Arabic Coordinator: Josh Gubler
KC International Development Coordinator: Darren Hawkins
WomanStats Representative: Celeste Beesley
Utah Debate Commission: Ken Stiles

5. External Responsibilities

Global Governance editor: Ken Stiles
Political Behavior editors: Chris Karpowitz, Jessica Preece
Cooperative Election Study co-PI: Jeremy Pope

Brad Bruton

Adjunct Faculty
bradfordbruton@gmail.com
POLI 379R: Introduction to Open Source Intelligence

Mark Clawson

Adjunct Faculty
markc@diamondevent.com
POLI 364: Jurisprudence

Kerry Kartchner

Adjunct Faculty
kkartchner@byu.edu
POLI 470: Research Project: International Relations "The Politics of Nuclear Proliferation"

Robert Griffiths

Adjunct Faculty
robert_griffiths@byu.edu
POLI 353 Chinese Politics

David Bohn

Donna Lee Bowen

781 KMBL
(801) 422-3409
richard_davis@byu.edu

Richard Davis

richard_davis@byu.edu

Lee Farnsworth

Earl Fry

David B Galbraith

David Magleby

1135 KMBL
(801) 422-5462

Louis C Midgley

Noel Reynolds

Lamond Tullis

STAFF

Mortensen, Krista 1911-47 02.jpg

Krista Mortensen

Department Office Manager
744 KMBL
(801) 422-3422
krista.mortensen@byu.edu

Carlee Guenther Dynes

Communications & Project Manager
755 KMBL
(801) 422- 3320
carlee_dynes@byu.edu

Megan Hancock

Academic Advisor
2122 WVB
801-422-3541
liberalarts@byu.edu

Amanda Tammen Petersen

Career Director
1134 WSC
(801) 422-5033
amanda_peterson@byu.edu

STUDENT OFFICE STAFF

Hadley Garff

Book orders, Bulletin Boards and New Semester Prep

Jane Hansen

Office Supplies and Inventory

Mariele Stockman

Events and Scheduling

Rachel Tebbs

Accounting

Jesse Farnsworth

Timecards and Employee Reconciliations

745 KMBL | (801) 422-3423 | polysec@byu.edu