Skip to main content

Directory

Faculty by Name
Faculty by Subfield
Faculty Assignments
Adjunct Faculty
Emeriti Faculty
Staff

Lisa Argyle

Assistant Professor
American Politics
852 KMBL
(801) 422-5022
lisa_argyle@byu.edu

Michael Barber

Associate Professor
American Politics
724 KMBL
(801) 422-7492
barber@byu.edu

Celeste Beesley

Assistant Professor
International Relations
730 KMBL
(801) 422-7807
celeste_beesley@byu.edu

Adam Brown

Associate Professor
American Politics
772 KMBL
(801) 422-2182
brown@byu.edu

Ethan Busby

Assistant Professor
American Politics
844 KMBL
(801) 422-2453
ethan.busby@byu.edu

Ray Christensen

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
215 HRCB
(801) 422-5133
ray_christensen@byu.edu

Scott Cooper

Associate Professor
International Relations
762 KMBL
(801) 422-4053
scott_cooper@byu.edu

Ryan Davis

Associate Professor
Political Philosophy
740 KMBL
(801) 422-9080
rwdavis@byu.edu

Adam Dynes

Assistant Professor
American Politics
784 KMBL
(801) 422-2337
adamdynes@byu.edu

Jay Goodliffe

Professor
American Politics
734 KMBL
(801) 422-9136
goodliffe@byu.edu
Department Chair

Josh Gubler

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
764 KMBL
(801) 422-2829
jgub@byu.edu

Ralph Hancock

Professor
Political Philosophy
794 KMBL
(801) 422-3302
ralph_hancock@byu.edu

Darren Hawkins

Professor
International Relations
832 KMBL
(801) 422-5526
dhawkins@byu.edu

Kirk Hawkins

Professor
Comparative Politics
782 KMBL
(801) 422-1362
kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
Associate Chair: Teaching & Curriculum

Eric Hyer

Associate Professor
International Relations
780 KMBL / 209 HRCB
(810) 422-4699
eric_hyer@byu.edu

Gentry Jenkins

Visiting Professor
International Relations
774 KMBL
(801) 422-5894
gentry.jenkins@byu.edu

Chris Karpowitz

Professor
American Politics
850 KMBL
(801) 422-2788
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu

Christopher Krewson

Assistant Professor
American Politics
742 KMBL
(801) 422-7265
chris_krewson@byu.edu

Elizabeth McGuire

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
780 KMBL
(801) 422-1866
elizabeth.mcguire@byu.edu

Quinn Mecham

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
770 KMBL
(801) 422-5317
qmecham@byu.edu

Quin Monson

Associate Professor
American Politics
840 KMBL
(801) 422-8017
quin.monson@byu.edu

Chad Nelson

Assistant Professor
International Relations
752 KMBL
(801) 422-3505
chad_nelson@byu.edu

Dan Nielson

Professor
Comparative Politics
790 KMBL
(801) 422-3417
daniel_nielson@byu.edu

Tyler Pack

Visiting Professor
International Relations
754 KMBL
(801) 422-5237
tyler.pack@byu.edu

Kelly Patterson

Professor
American Politics
842 KMBL
(801) 422-4985
kelly_patterson@byu.edu

Jeremy Pope

Professor
American Politics
834 KMBL
(801) 422-1344
jpope@byu.edu
Associate Chair: Research and Academic Life
CSED Co-Director

Jessica Preece

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
732 KMBL
(801) 422-3276
jessica_preece@byu.edu

David Romney

Assistant Professor
Comparative Politics
734 KMBL
(801) 422-0364
david.romney@byu.edu

Joel Selway

Associate Professor
Comparative Politics
792 KMBL
(801) 422-8607
joel_selway@byu.edu

Ken Stiles

Professor
International Relations
760 KMBL
(801) 422-1352
ken_stiles@byu.edu

Sven Wilson

Professor
American Politics
722 KMBL
(801) 422-9018
sven_wilson@byu.edu

American Politics

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Argyle, Lisa Assistant 852
KMBL
Lisa_argyle@byu.edu
(801) 422-5022
Barber, Mike Associate 724
KMBL
barber@byu.edu
(801) 422-7492
Brown, Adam Associate 772
KMBL
brown@byu.edu
(801) 422-2182
Busby, Ethan Assistant 844
KMBL
ethan.busby@byu.edu
(801) 422-2453
Honors Thesis Advisor
Dynes, Adam Assistant 784
KMBL
adamdynes@byu.edu
(801) 422-2337
BYUPAS & PI Sigma Alpha
Advisor
Goodliffe, Jay Professor 734
KMBL
goodliffe@byu.edu
(801) 422-9136
Department Chair
Karpowitz, Chris Professor 850
KMBL
chris_karpowitz@byu.edu
(801) 422-2788
University IRB Rep,
CSED Co-Director
Krewson, Chris Assistant 742
KMBL
chris_kreswson@byu.edu
(801) 422-7265
Monson, Quin Associate 840
KMBL
quin.monson@byu.edu
(801) 422-8017
Civic Engagement Coordinator
Patterson, Kelly Professor 840
KMBL
kelly_patterson@byu.edu
(801) 422-4985
University General Education Advanced Writing
Pope, Jeremy Professor 834
KMBL
jpope@byu.edu
(801) 422-1344
Assoc. Chair: Research & Academic Life, CSEC Co-Director
Wilson, Sven Professor 722
KMBL
sven_wilson@byu.edu
(801) 422- 9018
BYU Republicans Advisor

Comparative Politics

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Christensen, Ray Associate 775
KMBL
Ray_christensen@byu.edu
(801) 422-5133
IR Coordinator, BYU Republicans
Gubler, Josh Associate 764
KMBL
jgub@byu.edu
(801) 422-2829
Middle East Studies Coordinator
Hawkins, Kirk Professor 782
KMBL
Kirk_hawkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-1362
Assoc. Chair: Teaching and Curriculum
McGuire, Liz Assistant 780
KMBL
elizabeth.mcguire@byu.edu
(801) 422-1866
BYUPAS Advisor
Mecham, Quinn Associate 770
KMBL
qmecham@byu.edu
(801) 422-5317
Associate Director over Academic Programs & Research
Nielson, Dan Professor 790
KMBL
Daniel_nielson@byu.edu
(801) 422-3417
Preece, Jessica Associate 732
KMBL
Jessica_preece@byu.edu
(801) 422-3276
Assoc. Chair,
Research and Academic Life
Romney, David Assistant 734
KMBL
david.romney@byu.edu Political Review Advisor
Selway, Joel Associate 792
KMBL
Joel_selway@byu.edu
(801) 422-8607

International Relations

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Beesley, Celeste Assistant 730
KMBL
Celeste_beesly@byu.edu
(801) 422-7808
WomanStats Rep.
Cooper, Scott Associate 762
KMBL
Scott_cooper@byu.edu
(801) 422- 4053
Sigma Advisor
Hawkins, Darren Professor 832
KMBL
dhawkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-5526
D. Rank & Status Chair, GPL Director, BYU Democrats
Hyer, Eric Associate

780 KMBL

209 HRCB

Eric_hyer@byu.edu
(801) 422-0364
Asian Studies Coordinator
Jenkins, Gentry Visiting 774 KMBL gentry.jenkins@byu.edu
(801) 422-5894
Nelson, Chad Assistant 752
KMBL
Chad_nelson@byu.edu
(801) 422-3505
Nielson, Dan Professor 790
KMBL
Daniel_nielson@byu.edu
(801) 422-3417
Pack, Tyler Visiting 754
KMBL
Tyler.pack@byu.edu
(801) 422-5237
Stiles, Ken Professor 760 KMBL
215 HRCB
Ken_stiles@byu.edu
(801) 422-1352
Utah Debate Commission

Political Theory

Name Rank Office Contact Position
Davis, Ryan Associate 740
KMBL
rwdavis@byu.edu
(801) 422-9080
Young Scholars Workshop Coordinator, Thursday Group Coordinator
Hancock, Ralph Professor 794 KMBL ralph_hancock@byu.edu
(801) 422-3302
Tocqueville Club Advisor

Administrative Positions, 2021-2022

1. Department Leadership


Chair: Jay Goodliffe
Associate Chair, Research and Academic Life: Jeremy Pope
Associate Chair, Teaching and Curriculum: Kirk Hawkins

2. Department Standing Committees


Department Executive Committee


Chair: Jay Goodliffe
Members: Adam Brown, Kirk Hawkins, Jeremy Pope, Jessica Preece

Teaching and Curriculum Committee


Chair: Kirk Hawkins
Course Scheduling:
- American Politics/Public Policy: Adam Brown
- Comparative Politics: Joel Selway
- International Relations: Chad Nelson
- Political Theory: Ralph Hancock
Writing Coordinator: Lisa Argyle
Fall Poster Conference: Joel Selway
Representative on College Curriculum Committee: Kirk Hawkins
Student Appeals/Requests: Kirk Hawkins
Washington Seminar Oversight Committee: Kirk Hawkins

Research and Academic Life Committee


Chair: Jeremy Pope
Members: Ethan Busby, Ryan Davis, Chris Krewson, Jessica Preece, Mike Barber

Rank & Status Committee


Chair: Darren Hawkins
Members: Ralph Hancock, Chris Karpowitz, Kelly Patterson, Ken Stiles

3. Other Department Committees & Positions


Pi Sigma Alpha/BYUPAS Advisors: Adam Dynes, Liz McGuire
Sigma Advisor: Scott Cooper
Political Review Advisor: Ryan Davis
Honors Thesis Advisor: Ethan Busby
CSED Co-Directors: Chris Karpowitz and Jeremy Pope
GPL Director: Darren Hawkins
BYU Democrats: Darren Hawkins
BYU Republicans: Ray Christensen
BYU Utah United: Ken Stiles
Tocqueville Club: Ralph Hancock

4. College and University Assignments


University IRB Representative: Chris Karpowitz
University General Education Advanced Writing: Kelly Patterson
University Constitution Day Committee: Eric Hyer, Chris Krewson
College Rank and Status Committee: Sven Wilson
College Diversity & Inclusion Committee: Liz McGuire, Jessica Preece, Joel Selway
Civic Engagement Coordinator: Quin Monson
KC Associate Director over Academic Programs and Research: Quinn Mecham
KC International Relations Coordinator: Eric Hyer
WomanStats Representative: Celeste Beesley
Utah Debate Commission: Ken Stiles

David Curtis Bates

Adjunct Faculty
bdavid@byu.edu
POLI 170: Intro to International Politics

Robert Griffiths

Adjunct Faculty
robert_griffiths@byu.edu
POLI 353 Chinese Politics

Paul Edwards

Wheatley Institution
paul.edwards@byu.edu
POLI 420: Constitutional Law-American Federal System

David Bohn

Donna Lee Bowen

781 KMBL
(801) 422-3409

Richard Davis

Lee Farnsworth

Earl Fry

David B Galbraith

David Magleby

1135 KMBL
(801) 422-5462

Louis C Midgley

Noel Reynolds

Stanley Taylor

Lamond Tullis

STAFF

Krista Mortensen Image

Krista Mortensen

Department Office Manager
744 KMBL
(801) 422-3422
krista.mortensen@byu.edu
J. Matthew Clarke Image

J. Matthew Clarke

Academic Support Coordinator
783 KMBL
(801) 422-3982
matthew_clarke@byu.edu

Andrew Roberts

Academic Advisor
Read about Andrew here
1041 JFSB
801-422-3541
andrew_roberts@byu.edu

STUDENT OFFICE STAFF

Drew Jezek Image

Drew Jezek

Office Assistant
Rachel Tebbs Image

Elizabeth Bessey

Office Assistant

Brianna Gee

Office Assistant

Whitney Davis

Office Assistant

Abby Housley

Accountant

745 KMBL | (801) 422-3423 | polysec@byu.edu